Hendrix at Home

Discovering Hendrix at Handel & Hendrix in London

Post 111: Mentoring Handel & Hendrix

Time has flown and as we near the end of the year, so too is the building phase of our capital project. Tim Caulton, our Heritage Lottery Fund mentor talks about his involvement in the project – and love of Hendrix – below. Happy reading one and all – Ella.

“One of the joys of being an independent member of the Heritage Lottery Fund team is that I see and visit some diverse and amazing places. On a typical day I may be supporting the restoration of a steamship, assessing a grant application on a medieval palace, or advising on the interpretation of a world heritage site.

As someone who spent most of their teenage years in the 1960s, I could not believe my luck when HLF asked if I would like to be mentor on the Discovering Hendrix project. As I travelled down to London for the start-up meeting, I tweeted ‘Have I died and gone to Heaven?’ to which one of my friends responded ‘if you see Jimi there Tim, then yes you have’.

Jimi Hendrix played three times in my home town Nottingham in 1967. I was only thirteen at the time and unfortunately I missed all of Jimi’s Nottingham shows. The first time I really had chance to see him was at the Isle of Wight Festival in 1970. Personal circumstances conspired against me and I never made the planned hitchhike from a family holiday in Cornwall. In short, I never saw Jimi live, but I am proud still to own all of the Hendrix singles I bought at that time.

Another joy of supporting HLF projects is that there is the occasional unexpected treat such as riding on the footplate of a famous steam locomotive, seeing close at hand a box of specimens Darwin brought back on the Beagle, or crawling along the fuselage of a Lancaster Bomber. One such occasion occurred at Handel House. Sarah greeted me with ‘I have a treat for you’, producing a guitar case which contained the very guitar Hendrix played at his seminal Monterey concert. My enthusiasm rather got the better of me when I asked ‘Can I play it?’ momentarily forgetting my lack of talent and the more obvious fact that it is strung left-handed. Just holding it was enough, although my secret wish that some of the stardust might have rubbed off was brought to a sudden and disappointing end when I picked up my almost identical black Stratocaster later that day.

It has been a joy supporting Handel & Hendrix in London in so many ways. I for one cannot wait until 10 February. – Tim Caulton”

Brook Street in January 2015 when the builders moved in.

Brook Street in January 2015 when the builders moved in.

The scaffold was installed in June this year.

The scaffold was installed in June this year.

Brook Street as it is today. Can you spot the difference? Handel's house now has a 4th floor and is level with its neighbours

Brook Street as it is today. Can you spot the difference? Handel’s house now has a 4th floor and is level with its neighbours

About Ella Roberts

I am the Communications Officer at Handel House Museum

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 18 December 2015 by in Brook Street, Building works, Capital project, Hendrix, Project team.

Heritage Lottery Fund Project

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,429 other followers

Blogs We Follow

The Great Wen

A London blog

The Rambler

Modern composition. Blogging the music that others won't tell you about.

S. Paul's Deptford

Church Development Project

the Exhibitionologist

[ek-suh-bish-uhn-ol-uh-jist] -noun: Person who studies and reviews exhibitions, then blogs about them.

Persistent Enlightenment

Notes on the Enlightenment as Historical Period and Continuing Project

Pegs and 'Tails

Seventeenth- and eighteenth-century English and Irish furniture &c.

The Long Eighteenth

For anyone interested in the long 18th century

Global Art Junkie

A curated serving of the visual arts

Science Museum Blog

Discovering Hendrix at Handel & Hendrix in London

